The vineyard in Rinkaiel

For the Rules, Character Workshop, and other general discussion of the game.
Graybeard
The Heretical Admin

The vineyard in Rinkaiel

Post by Graybeard »

Kincaide (or, if you prefer, Rhett) asked me for a quick description of the vineyard/winery that the Sorensens (i.e., Gewehr...) recently "negotiated" to buy on the outskirts of Rinkaiel. Others might find it interesting, so here it is, with the caveat that I'm not an expert on viticulture, but ...

Setting first. Rinkaiel, you will recall, is a seaport on the north coast of Farrel, generally crescent-shaped around a harbor. The vineyard (the winery is integral to it, although the liquor store is in Rinkaiel itself) is on the southwestern outskirts of town, on gently rolling terrain (wine grapes like to grow on southern exposures) between the city and the forest that makes up the sparsely-populated (and ... available for adventures ...) northern part of Farrel. The "shack" where some of the action has occurred, no longer part of the vineyard itself, is at the extreme south corner of the property, right where the forest starts (and rises into hills to the wild south of town). A small stream runs seaward through the shallow valley near the southwestern boundary, heading generally north-northwest before turning toward the harbor somewhere beyond the vineyard. Wikipedia thoughtfully :-) provided a photo that gives the general idea, although Layla's property is much smaller than this and the hills beyond are covered with forest rather than fields and houses, at least to the south.